Candidates slow to file for some city, school races


Filing for some of the seats in local city council and school board races has been slow with the Friday deadline quickly approaching.

The deadline to file is 5 p.m. Friday at the city halls of each of the cities and administration buildings of the school districts. 

In Quitman, three aldermen seats are available. The incumbents are Susan Resnik, Jack Robinson and Kevin Gilbreath. As of Monday, Resnik and Robinson have been the only two who have filed. 

In the Quitman School Board election, incumbents Royce Patterson, Michael Hipp and Jeremy Smith are up for re-election and each one of them has filed. As of Monday, no one else has filed for those seats.

In the Mineola City Council election, all three incumbents have filed for reelection. They are Ward 1, Sue Jones; Ward 2, Jayne Lankford and Ward 3 Novada Bigham.

In the Mineola School Board election five candidate application packets have been picked up, but as of Monday at presstime only the incumbents have returned their packets. They are Board President Regan Brandon and Jill Quiambao.

In the Yantis School Board race, the seats open are those currently held by Stacy Wetzel, James Van Winkle and Jeff Quinn. To date, no one has filed to run for the Yantis board. 

There are three city council seats open in Yantis. They are currently being held by Kenneth Kincaid, Reed Gammill and Betty Jenkins and as of Monday, no one has filed for those seats. 

The seats of Alba City Council incumbents Tammy Kirkpatrick, Larry Jones and Jonathan Mize are open. As of Monday, only Kirkpatrick has filed for a seat on the council.

For Alba-Golden School Board, only incumbents Joe Carr and Mike Ragsdale have filed for their positions which are the only ones up for election.

For the Hawkins City Council and mayor’s election, Mayor Howard Coquat is not seeking reelection. His position is being sought by Tom Parker. Place 1 Alderman Sherry Davis has said she will not seek reelection. Cody Jorgenson had filed for that position. Place 3 Alderman Debbie Rushing has not filed for reelection and Silas Franks and Stephen Lucas have filed for that position. 


Special Sections