County earns spirit award from ETCOG


Last week, Wood County Industrial Commission Executive Director Kiki Bettis gave the county commissioners an update on the fall East Texas Council of Governments meeting hosted by Wood County on Sept. 27.

ETCOG is an organization of governments representing 14 counties in the East Texas region. Over 80 people attended this year’s fall meeting, including 20 members representing Wood County.

Bettis presented the spirit trophy that Wood County received from ETCOG.

“I am very proud to announce that Wood County received the spirit award. This is a traveling trophy that circulates throughout the 14 county region and presented to those counties that display the most spirit during ETCOG’s annual meetings (in the spring and the fall). This trophy was presented to Marion County at the spring meeting and will now be housed in Wood County,” she said.

“There are some great things happening in Wood County that on occasion go un-noticed – and I certainly do not want this to be one of those occasions. Wood County works closely with ETCOG and it was an honor to host their semi-annual conference in our county.”

Wood County community members in attendance included Yantis Mayor Trey Norris; WCIC members: Chairman Gerald Elliott, WCIC Vice Chairwoman Dana Donahue, WCIC Secretary Allene Doggett, Lowe Ann Elliott, Ken Donahue, Martha Scroggins, Neal Duncan and Jim Berry; Quitman city officials: Susan Resnik, Randy Dunn, Andrew Kloefkorn, Denea Hudman; Mineola Mayor Kevin White; Wood County Emergency Manager/ Fire Marshal Tully Davidson.

She thanked Precinct One Commissioner Virgil Holland for welcoming the guests at the meeting.


Special Sections