Decision time for Wood County voters

Half dozen local races contested in GOP primary


Six contested Wood County races headline the Republican primary on Tuesday, March 3.

Early voting continues through Friday.

All six of the contested local races include the incumbent office holder.

The ballot is headlined by the nominee hopefuls for United States president and U.S. senator.

At the local level, the county’s two U.S. Congressmen have also drawn challenges from both parties.

The county’s state representative and state senator are unopposed in the Republican primary but do have Democratic opponents in the general election.

For Wood County district judge, incumbent Jeff Fletcher faces Brad McCampbell.

For district attorney, appointee Angela Albers faces Jodi Cox for the two-year unexpired term.

For sheriff, incumbent Tom Castloo faces Kelly Cole, James Schaffner and Callie Carrell-Lawrence.

Two constable seats are contested while one did not draw an official candidate.

Incumbent Steve Bowser faces Billy Hill in Precinct One. In Precinct Three, incumbent Gary Dixon faces John McQueen.

The Precinct Four constable position has drawn no official candidates and will be determined by a write-in in the general election.

Precinct Two Constable Kelly Smith drew no opposition.

One county commissioner seat is contested. Incumbent Virgil Holland faces J.R. Douglas and Keith Gilbreath.

Precinct Three Commissioner Mike Simmons is unopposed for reelection.

Also drawing no opposition for reelection is County Tax Assessor-Collector Carol Taylor.

State Representative Cole Hefner has no opponent in the primary and will face Democrat Lawyanda Price in November.

State Senator Bryan Hughes also drew no primary opponent and will be challenged by Democrat Audrey Spanko in the general election.

Congressman Lance Gooden faces Don Hill in the Republican primary, with the winner to take on Democrat Carolyn Salter in November. Gooden represents the western portion of the county.

On the east side of the county, Congressman Louie Gohmert drew a challenge from Johnathan Kyle Davidson in the primary, with Democrat Hank Gilbert to face the winner in November.

State Board of Education member Keven Ellis has no opponent in the Republican primary and will face Democrat Brenda Davis in November.

Several state supreme court and court of appeals judgeships will be determined as well as seats on the regional appellate court.

The only other statewide race is for a seat on the Texas Railroad Commission.

For county party chair, Republican Janna Castloo and Democrat Judy G. Traylor are unopposed.

Early voting is held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the elections office in Quitman through Friday.

Polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.

Sample ballots and polling locations can be viewed on the elections department pages at

As of Tuesday morning, early voting turnout was 2,328 with another 919 ballots sent by mail.