District 12-3A boys honors announced


Mineola, Quitman and Alba-Golden were all represented on the district 12-3A all district basketball selections. Mineola senior Kourtland Sinches was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year while junior teammate Sean Dennis was named Newcomer of the Year and Quitman’s Jace Reid was selected Freshman of the Year.

On the first team, Mineola was represented by sophomore Shaw Franklin, junior Cameron Sorenson, and senior Frankie Meason. Also on the first team were Alba-Golden senior Logan Miller and Quitman junior Garrett Taylor.

Senior Jake Farmer and junior Garrett Peek of Quitman made the second team. Also on the second team were sophomore Tom Mitchell of Alba-Golden and sophomore Kedavien George of Mineola.

Edgewood Coach Jay Jameson was named Coach of the Year while one of his players, junior Trey Erwin got the nod for Most Valuable Player. The Offensive Player of the Year award went to two players, Kane Johnson of Kemp and Josh Laney of Scurry-Rosser.

Edgewood won the district championship and was defeated in the third round by the state’s top-ranked Madison Trojans, who also beat Scurry-Rosser in the opening round of the state playoffs. Mineola fell in the first round to state-ranked Triple A Academy and Kemp lost in the second round.


Special Sections