Dunn elected Quitman mayor; three win Mineola board seats


The City of Quitman gained a new mayor and two familiar aldermen, while Mineola ISD elected three new trustees to its school board in Saturday’s municipal and school board elections.

In the Quitman mayoral race, Randy Dunn, who serves as mayor pro tem, was elected mayor with 88 votes. Alderman J.R. Evans received 36 votes, according to preliminary results.

In the alderman race for Quitman, two seats were up for election. Brad Medlin was re-elected to his seat with 91 votes. David Dobbs, incumbent mayor, was elected as alderman with 86 votes.

Quitman alderman candidates Arnie Spiers and Michael Raney received 25 and 17 votes, respectively.

For Mineola ISD school board, Jill Quiambao, Jackie Lee Rodieck and Glen Dossett were elected to the three open trustee seats. Quiambao received 320 votes, Dossett received 344 votes and Rodieck received 296 votes.

Jim Ruffin received 259 votes, Jo McCarty received 105 votes and Patricia Wright received 114 votes in the MISD election.

MISD Superintendent Kim Tunnell said these results are unofficial and the votes were to be canvassed at a special school board meeting Tuesday.

For Yantis ISD school board, incumbent April Johnson and newcomer Jeff Quinn won the two seats with 60 votes each. Jennifer Larkin received 28 votes, according to unofficial results.

Johnson and Quinn will be sworn in at the May 21 YISD school board meeting.

For Alba-Golden ISD school board, newcomers Dwayne Thompson and Chad Dailey won the two trustee seats. Thompson received 206 votes and Dailey won 172 votes.  

Brad Lennon received 169 votes. Incumbents Brady Robinson and James Wilkinson received 127 and 63 votes, respectively, according to unofficial results.