Yantis athletes earn hoop All District honors


Yantis boys dominated and the Lady Owls were well-represented on the District 24-A All District squads.

Mike McMinn was named Coach of the Year on the boy’s side as the Owls went 8-0 winning the district title advancing to the Region III semi-finals at Mansfield where they fell to eventual state champion Lipan.

Bradley Potts was named District Most Valuable Player and fellow junior Jayden Modrall, Offensive Player of the Year. First team honors went to senior Lucas Cerretani, sophomore J.C. Nolen and junior Tucker Hathcoat while Marshall Anderson landed on the second team.

Academic all-district honors went to Potts, Jeffery Dalton, Cerretani and Will Graham.

For the Lady Owls, senior Bayley Bush and sophomore Montana Wetzel were named first team with sophomore Ashten Burnett making the second team. Maggie Hooker was named honorable mention.

The All District Girls Academic team honors went to each of the five starters. They were Bush, Wetzel, Burnett, Maggie Hooker and Maddie Hooker.