Mineola athletes honored at annual sports banquet


Nearly 200 people packed in to the Mineola High School multi-purpose room to celebrate another great year of Yellowjacket sports at the annual sports banquet.

Athletic Director Luke Blackwell opened the evening by thanking all the parents, boosters, friends, fans, coaches, school administrators and players for their efforts this school year.

Blackwell also noted that 38 student-athletes held at least a 3.7 (90th percentile) grade-point average during their respective sports season.

The football team had a solid year as they made the playoffs again after winning the state title in 2016. The team finished second in the district this season. The Defensive Linemen Award went to Ian Thompson and Jacob Hurst. The Linebacker Award was given to Preston Lankford. The Defensive Back Award went to Curtis London, the Offensive Linemen Award went to Seth Kirk and Cameron Wise. The Receiver Award went to Cody Ford, and the Offensive Back Award went to Trevion Sneed. The Special Teams Player of the Year was Cameron Sorenson. The team’s Jacket Award was given to Chandler Price, the team voted Preston Lankford as the defensive MVP, and Shaw Franklin earned offensive MVP.

The volleyball teams Hustle Award went to Kelsey Brewington, the Jacket Award went to Tiara Stephens, Sabria Dean won offensive MVP and Kiley Banks won defensive MVP.

The girls basketball team had a solid year making it to the area round of the playoffs. Meghan Brewington won the Hustle Award, Jessiah Riley won defensive MVP and Sabria Dean won offensive MVP.

Boys basketball also had a decent season as they made it to the playoffs. Standout freshman Jonah Fischer had a solid season as he won the Freshman of the Year Award, he was also voted to win the Hustle Award.

The boys soccer team also had a stellar season making a playoff appearance with lots of young players getting quality minutes on the field. The Jackets soccer team was also the smallest school district in the state to have a soccer program. The Jacket Award went to Angel Suarez, Offensive MVP went to Junior Palacios.

Softball had arguably the best team season this year as their team made it to the regional quarterfinals. The Most Improved Award went to Kaitlyn Burrell, the Jacket Award went to Claudia Barriga, Anna Westberry earned defensive MVP, and Kiley Banks won offensive MVP. The team’s overall MVP went to Isabella Tresca.

Baseball also made the first round of the playoffs this season. Their defensive MVP was awarded to Jacob Ford, offensive MVP and the Jacket Award went to River Simonek and the team overall MVP went to Cody Ford.

Track and Field also saw numerous athletes qualify for the regional meet this year in both the boys and girls divisions. On the girls side Tristian Kirk won the team’s Most Improved Award, Abby Kraztmeyer won the Jacket Award, and the team MVP went to Kiara Williams. On the boys side the Most Improved Award went to Devin Cormier and Wylie Franks, Carlos Galaz won the Jacket Award and the team’s overall MVP was awarded to Shaw Franklin.

For cross country both Alyssa Lankford and Carlos Galaz were awarded team MVPs for their performance. Galaz and Lankford proved to be dominant on the running trail as Lankford finished in the top 10 at the regional meet, and Galaz held one of the fastest freshman times in the region.

For boys golf the team had a solid season coming in second in their tournament and also placing second in the Alba-Golden tournament finishing fourth in the district. Grant Woods was awarded team MVP. The girls golf team finished second in the district and ninth of 16 teams at the regional tournament. Malea Bedford won team MVP.

Powerlifting also had two standout performers as Emily Jones won team MVP as well as Cameron Wise for the boys team as he posted a personal best 625 pound squat. The girls and boys tennis teams voted Liliana Ramos and Junior Palacios as team MVPs.


Special Sections