Two withdraw from MISD election


Mineola ISD board of trustees election is set for May 2. Two seats held by John Abbott and Kyle Gully are up for grabs. Both are three-year terms. 

Six candidates had filed to run by the Feb. 14 deadline: Rodney Watkins, Silvia Reyes, Jeff Hurley, Angie Ruffin, Demethrius Boyd and incumbent John Abbott. 

As of March 6, Angie Ruffin and Demethrius Boyd have withdrawn from the race. 

In a Facebook post, Ruffin stated, “I have decided to withdraw my name as a candidate from the election. I feel there are several other candidates who share my heart and passion for the district and I am happy to support those who I believe would be wonderful assets to the board…Although I do not know all of the other candidates personally, I understand there are some who strongly support a regional hub for the CTE program as well as other new facilities, including a Fine Arts Center, both of which I fully support since I believe in moving forward (quickly) by building for the immediate growth and the future. But, whether you’re for progression or not, your voice counts so, I urge you, especially parents, get out and vote your conviction! Much love and blessings to all who so unselfishly devote their time and energy to our students, teachers and school.”

Boyd withdrew his name from the ballot for personal family and medical reasons, but says he will consider it again in the future.

Remaining on the board of trustees until May 2021 are Daniel Louderman and Jay McGough. The terms of Glen Dossett, Jill Quiambao and Jackie Lee Rodieck go through May 2022.