Wood County GOP chooses county offices


After all Wood County ballot boxes came in Lucy Hebron, Donna Huston, Russell Acker and Janae Holland emerged winners in the contested county races in last Tuesday’s Republican primary election.

There were no Democratic opponents for the local offices, which mean those who won on the Republican ticket claimed the office. All ballot boxes were in by around 9:30 to 9:45 p.m. and the winners were frontrunners in their races from the time returns began coming in.

In the county judge race, Hebron won the position with 54.41 percent, 3,377 votes, to Kevin White’s 45.59 percent, 2,830 votes.

Donna Huston claimed the district clerk’s position. She had 54.68 percent, 3,235 votes, to Theresa Margos’ 45.32, 2,681 votes.

Pct. 4 Incumbent Commissioner Russell Acker claimed a decisive victory with 67.60 percent of the votes, 893, reelecting him, to Jon Shirley’s 32.40 percent with 428 votes.

Janae Holland had 58.30 percent of the vote, 963 votes, to Keith Riley’s 46.20, 827 votes.


Special Sections