Wood County increases in midterm election turnout


Wood County voter turnout topped the 2014 mid-term by almost 50 percent.

According to the Wood County elections department, 16,936 voters cast ballots, including early, absentee and election-day voting. Of the total, 11,200 ballots were cast early.

That total does not include provisional ballots – those with questions about a voter’s eligibility, questions which must be resolved before the vote can be counted.

Current turnout is roughly 56 percent of the 30,145 registered voters in the county.

By comparison to the most recent midterm election, there were 11,437 total votes and 4,867 early votes in 2014. There were 28,859 registered voters that election, according to past results.

Elections administrator Laura Wise called the voter turnout “huge.” She added that there were long lines but they moved quickly.

“I know there was a push by the state candidates,” Wise said.

Wise said provisional ballots should be counted by tomorrow. Military votes should be counted by Tuesday, Nov. 13.

On Nov. 16, canvassing will make the results official, she added.


National Offices

Ted Cruz, U.S. Senator

Louie Gohmert, U.S. House District 1

Lance Gooden, U.S. House District 5

State Offices

Greg Abbott, Governor

Dan Patrick, Lieutenant Governor

Ken Paxton, Attorney General

Glenn Hegar, Comptroller of Public Accounts

George P. Bush, Commissioner of the General Land Office

Sid Miller, Commissioner of Agriculture

Christi Craddick, Railroad Commissioner

Jimmy Blacklock, Supreme Court Justice Place 2

John Devine, Supreme Court Justice Place 4

Sharon Keller, Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge

Barbara Parker Hervey, Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Place 7

Michelle Slaughter, Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Place 8

Cole Hefner, State Representative District 5

Scott Stevens, 6th Court of Appeals District Justice Place 2

Greg Neely, 12th Court of Appeals District Justice Place 3

County Offices

Jim Wheeler, Criminal District Attorney

Lucy Hebron, County Judge

Donna Huston, District Clerk

Kelley Robinson Price, County Clerk

Becky S. Burford, County Treasurer

Jerry Gaskill, County Commissioner Precinct 2

Russell Acker, County Commissioner Precinct 4

Janae Holland, Justice of the Peace Precinct 2

Jerry E. Parker, Justice of the Peace Precinct 3

Cindy S. Weems, Justice of the Peace Precinct 4